Jump to Navigation

Saratoga Springs DWI/DUI Defense Attorneys

Defending Against Drunk Driving Charges From Glens Falls to Plattsburgh

New York aggressively pursues drinking and driving charges. You can be charged with a DWI/DUI while on a boat, snowmobile or ATV as well as while driving a car, truck or motorcycle. Multiple offenses carry strict fines, jail times and driver's license actions.

Our law firm, Thorn Gershon Tymann and Bonanni, LLP, represents residents and out of state visitors who have been charged with drinking and driving. Our attorneys represent clients throughout the Adirondacks region from our offices in Saratoga Springs and Lake Placid.

New York Drinking and Driving Violations

New York State has some of the toughest DWI laws in the nation. The penalties and fine increase significantly for a second drunk driving offense. A summary of the drinking and driving levels is shown below.

  • Zero Tolerance — For drivers under 21 with a .02 to .07 BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) the 1st offense is a $125 minimum fine and 6 month driver's license suspension.
  • DWAI -- Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol is a .05 to .07 BAC, is considered a traffic violation and a first offense carries a minimum $300 fine, a jail sentence of up to 15 days and a 90 day license suspension.
  • DWI — Driving While Intoxicated is .08 BAC or higher, is considered a misdemeanor for the first offense and carries a minimum $500 fine, up to 1 year in jail and a minimum 6 month driver's license revocation. A second offense within 10 years is a Class D felony with a jail sentence up to 4 years. First time offenders driving while intoxicated (.08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) or more) or impaired by drugs while a child of 15 years or younger is in the vehicle may be charged with a class E felony punishable by up to 4 years in State prison.
  • A-DWI — Aggravated Driving While intoxicated is .18 and higher BAC, is considered a misdemeanor with a minimum $1,000 fine, up to 1 year in jail and minimum 1 year driver's license revocation.
  • Ignition Interlock — Courts must order all drivers convicted of a misdemeanor or felony DWI to install and maintain an ignition interlock on any vehicle owned and operated by such driver for at least 6 months, in addition to any term imprisonment.

Protecting Your Driving Privileges

Our law firm's approach to helping our out of state guests as well as local residents, is to do the following:

  • Manage the process — Making sure the deadlines are met and paperwork is properly filed for your criminal charges.
  • Communicate — Letting you know what you need to do and when.

Lake Placid Drunk Driving Defense Lawyers

At Thorn Gershon Tymann and Bonanni, LLP, we provide vigorous DWI/DUI defense. Please call us at 518-464-6770, or use the contact form to arrange for an initial consultation with one of our lawyers.

Past success does not guarantee future results.

Thorn Gershon Tymann and Bonanni, LLP
5 Wembley Ct, New Karner Rd
Albany NY 12212

Albany Law Office Map

Thorn Gershon Tymann and Bonanni, LLP
3 Franklin Square, Suite 3
Saratoga Springs NY 12866

Saratoga Springs Law Office Map

Thorn Gershon Tymann and Bonanni, LLP
72 Olympic Drive
Lake Placid NY 12946

Lake Placid Law Office Map